8MM FORUM WORLDWIDE • View topic - Sankyo Sound-500

8MM-16MM FORUM WORLDWIDE

The International Forum for 8mm, 16mm, and 9.5mm film
Dedicated To Collectors Around The World
It is currently Thu May 16, 2024 9:32 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Click on any of the boxes below to link to a new page

Screening Rooms    Ebay Film Sellers    Film/Equipment Sellers    Laurel and Hardy    Magnetic Striping

Our mission is to provide a "free" forum for all members. This forum will not delete, lock up, or edit any posts. On this forum, you are "free" to question any statement that is not understood, and debate any differences you have with another member. We only moderate when a member will not back up his accusations. There are no condescending attitudes from the Administrator or the Moderator. You will be treated with respect. Dan Lail, Admin. and Chris Smith, Moderator

Post subject: Sankyo Sound-500
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:09 am 
Film Expert

Hello everyone I'm new to the hobby. I just bought my first projector a Sankyo Sound-500 in like new shape(just needs a bulb) and was wondering if anyone knows anything about this model. Any pros and cons? is it junk or reliable? I paid $20 for it at a garage sale & am looking forward to running some films. Also what is the best resource for spare parts like bulbs & belts? Thanks, Ernie

Profile Send private message  

Post subject: Re: Sankyo Sound-500
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:52 pm 
Site Admin

Hi, Ernie and welcome to the forum.

I have had a few Sankyos before and was impressed with their quality. This model uses an EFM halogen lamp. Looks like these are readily available on Ebay for $5.00 and up:

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw=efm ... &_from=R40

I'm sure someone will chime in with more info about their experience with these projectors. in the meantime here are som specs I found:

Sankyo Sound 500
marketed in 1976-77
super 8 mm film
lens: Sankyo Zoom f: 1.4 \ F: 15-25 mm
lamp: 50 W, 8 V, EFM